Flat Abs, Fat Wallet

getting fit, living a life of purpose and lamenting life in general

Day….418…I think

I started this post with the title “Day….418….I think” because it seems to me that everyone has been counting the days that they’ve been on a challenge, or that they’ve been “good” on their diet and whatnot. I think that’s all very well and good and if it works for you, then great.

Personally, I’ve had to make it my lifestyle. “What I do.” This has been the case for more than a year (hence the 418 day approximation). I do post, on occasion, “week 4 is staring with a bang” or whatever, but that just means it’s the 4th week of the year.

When I quit smoking this last time (which was THE LAST TIME), I counted the days smoke free for the first 5. After that, it was like “okay, so now I’m a non-smoker!” It was a mental shift.

I think the same thing applies when it comes to my health & fitness. I am not doing this for a pre-determined amount of time. It is simply something I do, now. Sunday through Friday, I eat high protein, low carb. Saturday is cheat day. Sunday is laundry, groceries & food prep. Workouts are Monday through Saturday. It may sound boring, but it sure has been working! I woke up this morning, had my shower, made my eggs, packed my protein, chicken & veggies for the day, and off I went! My entire morning routine has become a 35-minute endeavour and my entire day goes swimmingly because of it!

I guess what I’m saying is, if I were looking at it as “Day whatever of whatever”, then i could find excuses to not do something because there’s always “x” amount of days left, or then I’d be pressured when there’s ONLY “x” amount of days left. This way, everyday has the same importance allotted to it and therefore, it’s just…habit.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day….418…I think

  1. Where your mind leads your body follows. Love this. Just live it and weave it into your life; the only way to make it work over the long haul. Awesome!!

Leave a Reply

