Flat Abs, Fat Wallet

getting fit, living a life of purpose and lamenting life in general

Fat Tuesday Confessional

Worked from home today as I seem to have come down with a headcold.  A minor one, but still enough to knock me out for 2 hours this afternoon.

Was a surprisingly productive day, considering it was done from my kitchen table through a headfog and included a long skype call with my parents (yay!!) (Finally, they’re back in the country!  It’s not that I worry, really, when they’re gone, but I like knowing we’re on the same general landspace.)

Obviously, I am not going to the gym today, which…I think…is a good thing.  I didn’t take a break on the weekend, and with yesterday being a holiday, I went in the late morning (note to self: if you go at 12:30pm instead of 11:30am, you will run into FAR fewer people — how come you haven’t learned that yet??) and my body hurts. Needs a break.

Which brings me to the main point of this post:

The Confession

Fat Tuesday, or Mardi Gras, has long been a day of final indulgences prior to the 40 days of Lent.  As well, a day of confession.  For me, it was the indulgence of sleep and reflection upon the indulgences of the weekend. Ohhh….the indulgences.  It was like Denver all over again.

I think I’m seeing a pattern.

I do “so well” during the week and then binge on the weekend.  But not for just one meal or even one day. No, this starts on Friday afternoon and goes to Monday morning (or evening, if said Monday is a holiday).  I think I need to find some balance in my diet.  Seeing the scale this morning was a major shock.  I truly hope it’s mostly water weight. (and also? i am ALWAYS hungry when I overload on carbs. It’s annoying.)

I will not write out what I ate here; it won’t be that sort of confessional, because honestly, it’s embarrassing.

It’s enough to say that it was Denver: Part Deux.  Instead, I’m going to try a different approach this week and include more carbs daily so that I’m not so tempted to binge on the weekends.  This cannot be healthy.

Here’s to the learning process!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday Confessional

  1. Telling myself it’s water weight is the only way I get to sleep at night. Oh, and Password Protected?! What!? Unfair play.

  2. Yes to the learning process! That is awesome. Now you know what you want and what is happening, a solution is on its way. You’re going to do awesome this weekend. I don’t have weekdays or weekends, just days. It helps to not assign days as special and then throw food on top of them for me.

    And I am with hopelesslyfunny – password protected?!?! 😦 hahahah

  3. Yet I still don’t feel like a grownup. As a child, I assumed that one day I’d wake up and feel like a man: physically, emotionally, philosophically, whatever. I thought a switch would flick in my brain and that was it – I would be a man. A fully fledged, grown-up man. Clearly, that never happened, and I know it never will. When my dad hit that milestone, 27 years ago, I looked at him and recognised that he was a man, an adult, a grownup. When I try to compare and contrast my feelings about myself today, and what I thought about my dad then, there is a chasm between the two.

Leave a Reply

