Flat Abs, Fat Wallet

getting fit, living a life of purpose and lamenting life in general

One of those….months

You know that phrase “‘Wow, I really regret that workout”, said no one, ever”? Well, I’ve been struggling lately with my motivation, and I had “one of those days” on Monday of this week, and when I left the gym, I thought “I actually DO regret that workout”.  Because I really didn’t give it my all and I knew it.  I didn’t want to be there, so I decided to approach it as “I will do a mini-workout, then, because at least I will have done something”.

But….I left the gym feeling like I hadn’t put in 100%, and that weighed on my mind for the rest of the night.  Why did I bother to even go, if I wasn’t going to do anything worthwhile?  (sigh) Time for yet ANOTHER shift in thinking.  (hold on, because my thought patterns can be a bit of a roller-coaster — some people tell me this is because I’m a Gemini, that I always see two sides of everything.  I like that explanation better than “You’re Crazy with a Capital C”)

On Monday, I did 30 mins hard cardio and 30 mins chest.  Therefore, I actually DID do SOMETHING, so why was I beating myself up?  Because I wasn’t dripping sweat at the end?  Oh well!!  Suck it up, I say.  Everyday is a new day and not a single day is ever going to be exactly like the other.  Some workouts are going to be better than others.  So, accept it and move on!  That’ s not to say that I should phone it in every time I go to the gym and then say to myself “oh well, at least I went”, it means allowing myself to have a workout that wasn’t my Best Workout Ever and accepting it for what it was, moving on and putting in the work the next day.

Having said that, I truly do believe this:

12123_142472675902327_2074360204_n

You get out what you put in

So that’s why I’m upset with myself, I guess.  I know that if I don’t put in HARD work, I won’t get HARD results.

For the record, though, I KILLED my workout yesterday.

Guilty as charged

Guilty as charged

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

